» » NYSQ - The New Straight Ahead

NYSQ - The New Straight Ahead download album

  • Performer: NYSQ
  • Album: The New Straight Ahead
  • FLAC: 1263 mb | MP3: 1806 mb
  • Released: 2014
  • Rating: 4.6/5
  • Votes: 378
NYSQ - The New Straight Ahead download album

The New Straight Ahead - New York Standards Quartet. Открывайте новую музыку каждый день. Лента с персональными рекомендациями и музыкальными новинками, радио, подборки на любой вкус, удобное управление своей коллекцией.

This, the band's fourth album, is called The New Straight Ahead. Re-inventing the standards can be fraught with difficulties-these tunes are, after all, much loved in their original or classic incarnations. Changing tempos or altering time signatures can also impact on the emotional qualities of a tune. The NYSQ is inventive enough to give these familiar compositions a few new angles, but it's also intelligent enough to know how far.

Straight Ahead is the fifth studio album by the American punk rock band Pennywise. It was released on June 1, 1999 and features the radio hit single "Alien". The album was released by Epitaph Records, their long-time record label. All tracks written by Pennywise. The bonus track "Down Under" from the album´s Australian/New Zealand release is a cover of Men at Work´s same titled song and a tribute to the many Australian Pennywise fans.

The NYSQ released their fourth album The New Straight Ahead (2014), fifth album Power of 10 (2015), sixth album Sleight of Hand (2017) and seventh album Heaven Steps to Seven (2018) on Whirlwind Recordings. Meet the members of the NYSQ: GENE JACKSON. Gene Jackson is one of the most well-known and best-loved drummers of his generation. He has also garnered critical attention for his projects as a leader, including his recent solo album, Let My Tears Sing.

In The New Straight Ahead, the New York Standards Quartet of pianist David Berkman, drummer Gene Jackson, saxophonist Tim Armacost, and double bassist Daiki Yasukagawa achieves such success. The newest album, released in the . on August 19, 2014 - the first on Whirlwind Recordings - is the modern straight-ahead band’s fourth effort. All four albums in NYSQ’s discography were, not surprisingly, made in Japan.

The New Straight Ahead. New York Standards Quartet.

Album · 2014 · 10 Songs. The New Straight Ahead New York Standards Quartet. Listen on Apple Music.

NYSQ are the New York Standards Quartet – a group of American virtuosi who can stick pretty close to a classic-jazz approach while sounding as if they’re discovering the fun of those straight-ahead methods rather than simply polishing them up. This time, the New York lineup – early Coltranesque saxophonist Tim Armacost, pianist David Berkman and sometime Herbie Hancock drummer Gene Jackson – are joined by a Big Apple expat: double bassist Michael Janisch. An artist with muscle and sensitivity, Janisch ideally suits the material and the sound of the band.


1 Intro (Polkadots)
2 The Maze
3 It Don't Mean A Thing
4 When You Wish Upon A Star
5 Autumn Leaves
6 Misterioso
7 Ah-leu-cha
8 Zingaro
9 Remember
10 Outro (And Moonbeams)


  • Bass – Daiki Yasukagawa
  • Drums – Gene Jackson
  • Piano – David Berkman
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone – Tim Armacost



Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode (scanned): 0799439087767